Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

New Guy with questions

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by lasarus22, Apr 5, 2003.

1. lasarus22

lasarus22 Newbie

Hello, I am new to the Chevy scence. The reason I am here is becasue I like the looks of the K-5's and need a good tow vehicle for my 1978 Jeep Cherokee Chief. There is one for sale near me for 3800. It looks to be lifted 8-12 inches with 35's....how much is too much and what do you need to look for when buying one of these things? Is there any other info one needs to know when considering these machines for off road? Whats the stock drivetrain like? Whats the reccomended drivetrain for muddin and mild off roading? Thanks all.... /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif

2. jakeslim

jakeslim 1/2 ton status

Welcome to CK5. I think 12inch lift is way too much. Most here have 4-6inch lifts. The most important thing with these trucks is the rust factor. The price is ok if there
    is little to no rust. You need to inspect everything..under carpet, seats, dast, out windshield area, rocker panels, tailgate, etc. Also, ask them to run a water hose over the outside of the front windshield to check for leaks that are not visible. Everything else can be fixed or repaired easily.

3. beater74

beater74 1/2 ton status

FYI k5's do not make good tow rigs, the wheel base is to short which will make towing a load like you talking about very unpleasant. /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif

4. jekbrown

jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

> Hello, I am new to the Chevy scence. The reason I am
    > here is becasue I like the looks of the K-5's and need a
    > good tow vehicle for my 1978 Jeep Cherokee Chief.