Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

New here. Help me evaluate my plan guys!

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by beerbudget, Aug 14, 2004.

1. beerbudget

beerbudget Newbie

Hey guys. I've been browsing for a couple months now and decided to join. I have an 85 Jimmy w/ factory 350/700/208 w/ 3:08's. This is my second K5 so I learned a lot of things (and things not to do) w/ my first one I had.

One of the first things I'm gonna do is swap in a set of "3/4 tons" that my friend has no use for so I can have them for free. They already have 4:10's loaded in them but they are open diff. I can't complain, they are free /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif. What's a way of IDing these things positively? Also, what's involved w/ swapping this into my K5 (brakes, steeing, ball joints, tie rods, etc.)

Also, I want to have just a 4" lift to clear 33's. This truck is very nice and mostly rust free, so I don't want to hack sheetmetal at all. This truck is mostly going to be street use w/ a little off-roading. My girlfriend likes to drive it and for hardcore wheeling (moslty mud around here) I'm looking at a 2500 Burban for that. So what lift should I go with? Against what most people do, I would actually be looking for a suspension that's not that flexible do to street handling. Would shackle flips be practical?