Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

New K5 owner

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by PublicEnemy, Feb 18, 2003.

1. PublicEnemy

PublicEnemy Newbie

I just got a '85 K5 that needs some attention but runs well.I am new to this but have always loved k5's.Now I have one and need some help learning about it.It seems to have some lift on it but nothing radical.It currently has 33x12.50 15 on really wide reverse offset chrome steel wheels.I don't think the 350 is totally stock as it has that V8 with a cam kind of attitude.I think I need to replace the steering (stock) stabilizer as it seems to have a lot of bumpsteer.What suggestions do you have for a truck that may see some light to moderate off road use.I would like to get deeper into things but at this time I want to stick to what my limited experience can handle.I also notice that some lughead removed the front driveshaft!!! WTF?!!! Is that difficult to replace?
    any help would be appreciated. /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif

2. milspecjimmy

milspecjimmy 1/2 ton status

id go get a rancho or similar dual steering stabilizer. as far as the front d shaft being out, go to napa or a drive line shop and get a new one if you are missing one. and there are 2 bands and 4 small bolts on the front yoke, and 4 larger bolts on the t case. very easy to install. as far as modifications go, do what your happy with, and take as much knowledge off of this site as you can. Just dont forget to join if its in your budget. welcome to the club and good luck

3. 502 4x4

502 4x4 1/2 ton status

Welcome to the site! /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif