Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

New Member...buying a K5

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by RubberFloorMat, Dec 12, 2004.

1. RubberFloorMat

RubberFloorMat 1/2 ton status Premium Member

Hi everyone!!

first off im not new to 4x4's, but i am new to K5's, but most mechanical stuff is the same as the trucks so ill be fine on that end.

ive been messing with 5.0 mustangs for the past few years, but im in need of another winter/daily driver, and dont really want a reg cab pickup.

looking at the following:

1991 Chevy K5 red with white top.
    110k miles
    2nd owner, and i know the first too.
    stripper model, Scottsdale trim, hence the screenname "rubberfloormat"

350TBI
    700r4
    10 bolt front and rear.

what appears to be a 4" Rancho lift, with crappy old shocks.

33/12.50/15 Hankook M/T's

paint has a bit of oxidation, but no rust at all and i haven t found as much as a ding on it, just some scratches and such, never had tint on the windows and has the original stereo etc....

ive offered the guy 3100 bucks for it, what do yall think is fair?

he was asking 3800 a few months ago, but its in a small town so no takers.

2. rjfguitar

rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

I am not a fan of Scottsdales, especially the late model K5's because of the lack of the quad headlight setup that looks really nice. I probably wouldn't give any more than 2.5K for it but I haven't seen it.

3. atho

atho 1/2 ton status

:rolleyes:

Is anything new? exhaust brakes etc? If a lot of stuff is new and the maintenance has kept up, I'd go for it.

4. tRustyK5

tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author