Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

New Member Needs Help

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by smilee, Jan 2, 2002.

  1. smilee

    smilee Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Eastern Washington
    Hi, I just purchased an 89 K 5 about 1 month ago. I am having a problem with it cutting out once it has warmed up and is doing about 50mph. Thus far I have replaced the EGR, O2 sensor, fuel filter, and TPS. I have scanned it and it comes up with no codes. Any help would be appreciated, I'm running out of ideas.
    Thanks,
    Lacie
     
  2. 55Willy

    55Willy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2001
    Posts:
    9,946
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Keizer, Or
    What about the fuel pump itself? does it do it in overdrive as well as in 3rd?
    Welcome to the site too!!!!
    If you find a way out let me know[​IMG] I'm stuck here 24/7/365*

    * not really but close enough
    <font color=red>Life is like a mud hole:</font color=red><font color=blue>
    When the S#!T gets deep, you have to keep moving and friends can always pull you out</font color=blue>
    55 Willy's
     
  3. Ryan B.

    Ryan B. 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Posts:
    5,693
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    I second that. Sounds like maybe a fuel starvation problem at high speeds.

    1st post too! [​IMG] Welcome to CK5 Lacie! [​IMG][​IMG]


    [Real Men Don't Care About Gas Mileage Or Rapid Tire Wear!]
    Ryan B.
     
  4. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Welcome to Ck5.

    Are you actually scanning using a scanner or a code reader? Having no codes does not mean all your sensors are working properly (ask me how I know that). My example - had no codes and a cold running problem - turned out to be a manifold air temp sensor was showing 175* at startup in the morning - so you can have a problem without a code. Get a real scanner if you don't already have one (Auto Xray for example for $159) and scroll through all the parameters, looking for what seems out of place. Another thing to check - when you replaced the TPS, did you set it for the idle voltage? My TPI setup requries .54 volts +/- .07, not sure what the reading for your TBI setup should be but it needs to be checked. Let us know what you find and if we can offer more ideas.

    <font color=blue>'79 ONE TON TPI K5 - See it at---&gt;<a target="_blank" href=http://www.blazzinor.rockcrawler.com>www.blazzinor.rockcrawler.com</a>
     
  5. chevyracing

    chevyracing 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Posts:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    I'm with them on fuel pump, I think those are tank mounted, not sure, I have a 72 Blazer, no such thing then.

    Something else to check are the fuel lines. Make sure it is not flattened or pinched anywhere causing a flow restriction.

    The last thing would be is the distributor advance working correctly?

    John

    Like to go sloppin' 'round in da mud in a rapid fashion....=)

    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/albun31?&page=1>BLAZER PICS</a>
     
  6. shawnboy

    shawnboy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Posts:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada, eh.
    Try changing the fuel filter as well.
    Shawnboy.

    <font color=red>If you are having too much fun it's probably illegal.</font color=red>
     

Share This Page