Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

new owner, some simple questions............

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Terminaltsi, Jan 27, 2003.

1. Terminaltsi

Terminaltsi Registered Member

hey everyone, i'm new to the blazer world, i have a 73 K5 with a crate motor, 3" body lift, 3" susp. lift and 33" super swampers.

one of my questions is this: what are teh vacuum lines for that are attached to the differential housings for? when i bought mine, the front one was broken off and hanging.
    also, how much power goes to the front wheels when the transfer case is engaged? i ask because i was driving on the beach in mexico and got stuck because the front wheels weren't pulling even though i had the t case engaged. my rears were spinning but the fronts were just sitting there.

also, what kind of diffs are in my truck front and rear? i read that dana 44 is in the front but waht's in the back?

thanks.

2. 98sub454

98sub454 Registered Member

you should have a 12 bolt in the back

also the transfer case makes a 50/50 distrubution so it sounds to me like something is wrong in the 4wd system if there is no power being applied to the front. this is a dumb question, but did you have your front hubs locked?

i dont know about any vacuum lines, the only thing i know of that will come off of the diffs are vent tubes.

im pretty new to these trucks but im pretty sure im right

3. MudFrog

MudFrog 1/2 ton status

Sounds like 98sub454 is correct.

Check to make sure your front hubs are locked. If you have auto locking hubs then you might want to have them replaced because they are prone to failure.

The hose that comes off of the diffs are the vent tubes.

4. 4x4Freak

4x4Freak 1/2 ton status