Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

New PC is up and running

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by sled_dog, Nov 21, 2004.

  1. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    w00t! AMD Athlon 64 3000+ on an ASUS K8V-X board(KT800) running 1GB of PC3200 ram. Sadly still the Radeon 9800SE. Someday soon it will change. Also building a new PC for Tshy. Hers is an Athlon XP 2200+, ASUS A7V600-X(KT600) with 512MBs of PC2400 ram, and will be getting my Radeon 9800SE when I get a new card.
     
  2. darkshadow

    darkshadow 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    12,250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    C-eh-N-eh-D-eh
    cool /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  3. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    new one just scored 12020 in 3D Mark 2001SE, old setup scored a 9700 at best /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif now I just need that new vid card.
     
  4. Zeus33rd

    Zeus33rd Smarter than you GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Posts:
    7,324
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA
    A new video card will bring that score up above 20k I'm thinking. Get atleast an x800Pro/6800gt. The x800's will be faster than the 6800's in Half-Life 2 though. have you run the Video Stress Test thats included with Counter-Strike: Source? It's right on the main menu. You should also run the Doom 3 timedemo, 3dMark03, 3dMark05, and AquaMark3. You can learn alof from bencmarking. Also, go do some reading at the OCForums. I learn ALOT from there. /forums/images/graemlins/pimp1.gif
     
  5. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I mostly sit over at Procooling.com I've been a regular in the IRC room there for years now. I used to overclock and do nothing but computers then I got a life /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif so now its just a side thing. My last real hardcore indevor(sp?) was an Athlon Tbird 1000 with a watercooling system an an ATI Radeon 8500. However one of my hose clamps sprung a leak at the waterblock and by by video card /forums/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif Haven't really messed with watercooling since. Not becasue I'm afraid of it by any means it is just so much easier to slap on a heatsink and fan.
     
  6. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    I guess my PIII 733 sucks now. /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif
     
  7. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,624
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    that should rip thru HL2 pretty good /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

    just got the gravity gun.. the game is pretty freakin amazing so far... other than the occasional stutter on the waterbike, my rigs playing it well... /forums/images/graemlins/peace.gif
     
  8. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I had the occassional stutter before but nothing like Doom3 /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif. I havne't reinstalled HL2 yet, i will when I get back from dinner tonight. Made sure to save my save games. I won't be upset if there is something wrong with them though.

    Oh and KJ X800 is the plan /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  9. RingMaster4x4

    RingMaster4x4 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Posts:
    2,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bartlett, Texas
    Do you have raid on your?
     
  10. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    no. I should have made that jump but I didn't.
     
  11. RingMaster4x4

    RingMaster4x4 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Posts:
    2,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bartlett, Texas
    That cool I was just wanting to know. That is kind of like me I just can't get my self to spend the 300-400 /forums/images/graemlins/screwy.gif for a good video card
     
  12. hawkeye649

    hawkeye649 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Hamp-shi-ah
    [ QUOTE ]
    w00t! AMD Athlon 64 3000+ on an ASUS K8V-X board(KT800) running 1GB of PC3200 ram. Sadly still the Radeon 9800SE. Someday soon it will change. Also building a new PC for Tshy. Hers is an Athlon XP 2200+, ASUS A7V600-X(KT600) with 512MBs of PC2400 ram, and will be getting my Radeon 9800SE when I get a new card.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    eBay ID: PrecisionData
    /whore
    You'll like our sticks. /forums/images/graemlins/whistling.gif
     

Share This Page