Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

new spring hangers and poser pics :)

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by k5-newbie, Aug 14, 2005.

1. k5-newbie

k5-newbie 1/2 ton status

Well, finally finished my front spring hangers today...be easy on my welds i am a welding newbie. Also posted some poser pics to show off the flex :D

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. DavidB

DavidB 1/2 ton status

FYI: always weld along your material (like the frame) never across. Creates a fracture point. Unless it's already cracked, then you kinda have to :D

Got any more pix? Couldn't really make it all out.

3. sled_dog

sled_dog 1 ton status

I've heard this before but also seen it done many times with no issue, so is this just something people say or what? I did it on my S10 frame and thoughta bout the fact that maybe I shouldn't have afterwards. I have to do it more when I attach the new crossmember. I mean, its done from the factory , why is doing it when strengthening a frame so bad?

4. muddybuddy

muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

sweet truck k5-newbie. with ur zero-rates, did u move the axle forward any or just for extra lift? if you moved it forward, can u take a pic of it just sitting normal? id apprciate it. i want to see how the 1" forward looks in the fenderwells. i see u trimmed the rear part, but did u trim the front?

looks good!
    thanks

5. k5-newbie

k5-newbie 1/2 ton status

yes, i moved the front forward...will take a pic tomorrow and post it for you, thanks for the compliments.

6. muddybuddy

muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

thanks dude. i really like the paint job too.

7. 79k20350

79k20350 3/4 ton status

Thats not paint, thats bedliner

8. DavidB

DavidB 1/2 ton status