Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

New springs..can't get sway bar......(update) thanks for the help..

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by jakeslim, Apr 20, 2003.

  1. jakeslim

    jakeslim 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    Posts:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Napa, CA
    New springs..can\'t get sway bar......(update) thanks for the help..

    I installed front springs this weekend, everything is done and looks great but I can't get the front sway bar to lineup with the spring plates. Please see pics and questions below.
    [​IMG]
    Does not line up(above)

    [​IMG]
    other side.

    [​IMG]
    Does the bar adjust from here?
     
  2. Silver84k5

    Silver84k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Posts:
    3,769
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hillsboro Oregon
    Re: New springs..can\'t get sway bar to line up on spring plates. Please help

    depending on how much lift those are, you need to get a little spacer that goes between the top of the swaybar, and the crossmember

    or you could just do away with the sway bar, Alot of people do this, and i dont think anyone has died yet so it should be ok ;P
     
  3. Pookster

    Pookster 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2000
    Posts:
    3,195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC, NY, USA
    Re: New springs..can\'t get sway bar to line up on spring plates. Please help

    I think it dont fit very well with that much arch. I used the ORD sway bar disconnect kit. Worked for me. Otherwise, mine would of also not fit.
     
  4. SCOTTS_4X

    SCOTTS_4X 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Modesto CA
    Re: New springs..can\'t get sway bar to line up on spring plates. Please hel

    yes those holes are slotted so you can adjust out the unevenness but the bar will still be too short. you will either need to use the spacers or the ord disconnect kit. all I did was take the damn thing off and forget about it.

    -Scott
     
  5. jakeslim

    jakeslim 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    Posts:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Napa, CA
    Re: New springs..can\'t get sway bar to line up on spring plates. Please hel

    Thanks for the help. I ordered the ORD disconnect. 3 day express of course!
     
  6. Pookster

    Pookster 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2000
    Posts:
    3,195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC, NY, USA
    Re: New springs..can\'t get sway bar to line up on spring plates. Please hel

    No problemo. Let me know when your truck is done, Im tired of wheeling with the Heeps! /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif
     

Share This Page