Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

new to the chevy offroad world

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 1986chevy_rider, Nov 8, 2005.

1. 1986chevy_rider

1986chevy_rider Registered Member

Im new to the chevy offroad world and I need some help figuring out what this noise and problem with my front end is. If I turn my wheels to the left i get this binding noise then my front leaf spring seperates about ffour inches and my front end lifts up what could I have done? Its on a 1986 chevy 1/2 ton with I think an 8 inch to 6 in super lift i didnt put it on I bought it like this. for a really good deal.

2. jekbrown

jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

post up a picture of what your steering system (everything between the steering box and the knuckles) looks like...

j

3. K5Steve

K5Steve 1/2 ton status

I kinda had the same problem on my 77.It turned out that my gear box had come lose and everytime I turned the wheel the front of the truck would raise a bit.Hey,you don't live too far from me.

4. trailblazr81

trailblazr81 1/2 ton status

Cracked frame around steering box??

5. 1986chevy_rider

ahh this is crazy

Well as far as the cracked frame its not cracked if it is wow. Its got a supported frame welded in extra metal and so on.
    K5 STEVE- where bouts do you live? And where do you wheel? maybe we could get together when i get my rig back to opperating levels. Ive also got a loud tickeing noise in my x-case. or there abouts when Im in 4 wheel drive its a 208 ive heard they are not that good. and to all ill try to post pics im not sure if i can though.

6. K5Steve

K5Steve 1/2 ton status