Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

new to the off road need help

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Ryno91, Jul 24, 2005.

1. Ryno91

Ryno91 Registered Member

hey im kinda new to the off road before my new blazer its all been muscle cars... i need a little help my tranfer case went out on my 91 blazer and i was wandering wat should i get to replace it and where i could find one...the truck has a 350 with a automatic 4spd trans amd a 4 in lift anyother info needed to help me on this just email me at ryno599@yahoo.com thank you very much for your help
    -ryan

2. jekbrown

jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

your t-case is an np241. A pretty good case overall, its slip yoke being the only downside. You could swap a np205 in instead, but its heavier and has doesnt have as low of a low gear (2:1 vs 2.72:1). On the other hand, the 205 does have an iron case and fixed rear yoke (assuming you dont get the 1980 gm 205 that had a slip yoke...). Personally, if I was you I'd just stick with a 241... either repairing the one you have or buying another one. What exactly is wrong with the one you have? any idea? symptoms?

Both cases are relatively common... parts yards, 4x4 www site FS forums, nickel ads, craigslist etc would be good places to look.

You have a TH700R4 transmission most likely, if you want to go 205 you'll need a new adapter etc. Do a search for th700r4 and np205 and you'll find its been covered before. They are usually mated by using a th350-to-np205 factory adapter and a 2" spacer (that goes between the trans output shaft and the tcase adapter).

j

3. Ryno91

Ryno91 Registered Member