Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

New to this group and need your HELP

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Liftinstall, Jan 5, 2006.

1. Liftinstall

Liftinstall Newbie

Hey Everyone,

I just bought a 73 K5 Blazer 4x4 with the factory 350 CI and Turbo 350 trans.

I noticed a leak in my trans when i put it in reverse, I thought it was coming from the Vacume valve on the rear passanger side. But tonight I found a hair line crack going from the passanger side rear pan bolt and up about 2 inches it is only leaking in reverse but when in reverse its a good leak.

Has anyone else had a cracked case? can it be fixed or do i have to replace the case or complete trans? I am new to the 4x4 stuff so bear with me as I learn.

Also does anyone know if this is a common thing or one in a million.

Thanks Rob

2. pauly383

pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

I would be saving for another one in the future anyway .

In the meantime maybe find out why it cracked . Does your truck has any support of the rear of the transfercase , the mount on the side to the frame ? Are all the bellhousing bolts tight ? Motor and tranny mounts ok ?

Myself , I would probably check into someone welding it or something and drive it until it dies , maybe even jb weld , but then again , I have another ride to work if it blew up , and wouldn't want to spend money if the tranny was otherwise perfect :ignore:

3. mouse

mouse 1/2 ton status

350 trannies are pretty cheap around here. I would try to find a cheap replacement. Rebuilds for them usually dont go for too much.

4. roadnotca

roadnotca 3/4 ton status

A picture of where you're talking about, would help. From the sound of it, something must be flexing if it opens only when reversing.

5. blackblazer717

blackblazer717 1/2 ton status