Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

New to trucks

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by fried_guy, Mar 7, 2007.

1. fried_guy

fried_guy Registered Member

I'm a somewhat experienced small block chevy engine builder. I used to work on street/strip car engines for friends and family. I'm completely new to trucks.

I recently purchased a 1977 blazer cheyenne w/ tow package and a sbc 400 engine. It's primary use will be street and light-to-moderate offroading. I'll be rebuiliding the engine when time and money allows.

I was originally going to lift the truck 6" from stock (referencing the pictures I've seen of stock 77 blazers), but it looks like it's already lifted. I'm running 31" BFG all terrain tires and have tons of room under the fenders.

Did any of the 77 blazers have a stock lift on them? I don't see any lift blocks or suspension modifications.

Thanks,
    Casey

2. 1977k5

1977k5 3/4 ton status Vendor

No stock lift.

3. 1978Blazerk5

1978Blazerk5 1/2 ton status

pictures

4. fried_guy

Here's a pic

[​IMG]

5. 1977k5

Looks taller than stock to me. Maybe a previous owner threw a lift on it?

6. fried_guy

That sure would be nice, it'll save me the hastle. How can I tell what type of lift this is?

Sorry for the noob questions... i know nothing about truck suspensions.

7. 1977k5

Aftermarket springs generally have numbers painted on them. If yours are old, you may not be able to read them. See if you can find anything on the shocks, that may give you a clue as to what brand it might be.

8. fried_guy

Great, thanks a lot.

I'll check that out tonight.

9. vortec

vortec 1/2 ton status