Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

New truck

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by mouse, Nov 23, 2003.

1. mouse

mouse 1/2 ton status

This is my first time posting here. It seems to be the best forum I can find on 4x4's. Anyway, after moving to Montana, my days of working street cars are over (at least temporary) and I've decided to build an off-road capable truck. After a month of looking I found a '76 K20 just a block away. The body is rough - some rust and lots of dents, but the frame and chassis are great. It has 4.10 gears, a SM465, NP203, and a 350. Originally it was an auto with a 400 sb.
    I will be tightening up the 203 with a milemarker shaft conversion kit. I have just installed the front hubs so I can get more than 6 mpg.
    My question concerns lift. I want to be able to use the truck to go offroad and be reliable (why I wanted a 3/4 ton). My plan is for a 6" suspension lift (all spring) and to run 35" tires, probably BFG MT's. I understand the steering correction thats needed, but when I order the suspension parts do I need to be concerned about the t-case or drive shafts? Who do you recommend for the parts (BDS, ORD?) and any specific combo's. I'm looking to put a reliable truck together that is capable offroad - not the ultimate, but still capable.

Thanks. /forums/images/graemlins/truck.gif

2. Z3PR

Z3PR Banned

ORD has treated me really good. I highly recomend them. I had to have new driveshafts made for my 76 K5, but that wasn't a big deal, just find a local driveshaft shop.

3. big pappa b

big pappa b 3/4 ton status

BDS & Tuff Country springs are popular and good as well. ORD can hook you up with whatever you need. Customer service is /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif