Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

New video card

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by sled_dog, Apr 14, 2005.

  1. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Got my new video card finally!! Man I Missed 1600x1200 resolution. As well as 75 Hertz refresh rate and 32 bit color :D

    Time to go download the latest 3D Mark and benchmark her.

    By the way I got the XFX Nvidia GeForce 6600GT 128MB. Wish they made it in a 256 but they don't.
     
  2. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    3067 on 3DMark 2005
     
  3. mr_clean

    mr_clean 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Nice!!!

    I'm starting to get that upgrade bug...

    I'm running a 9800 pro right now which is fine, but every so often I feel the need to upgrade... :crazy:
     
  4. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I had a 9800SE, it ran out of being enough long ago. I gave it to Tshy for Christmas(in the computer I built her). Now I just need a new motherboard, and ram so I can overclock this thing.
     
  5. Zeus33rd

    Zeus33rd Smarter than you GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Posts:
    7,324
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA
    Hehe, my best 3dmark05 score was something like 6005. Just a bit over 6k. :D
     
  6. grimjaw

    grimjaw 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Posts:
    944
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seymour, TN
    I the wife and I are thinking about up grading our two PCs. We both have P4 2.4 @ 3.4, and gig of 2-2-2-5 DDR and ATI 9700 OCed past PROs.

    I have been trying to decide if we will wait on dual cores or just go with AMD Athlon 64 3200 939pin CPUs and new systemboards for now. I am leaning to waiting and do the whole Dual core, DDR2 , PCI Express and SLI thing.


    And yes if you understand what I just said "you too might be a geek".
     
  7. Zeus33rd

    Zeus33rd Smarter than you GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Posts:
    7,324
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA
    PCI-E, DDR2 and SLI are already around. You'd just be waiting on dual core chips and mobo's to support them.

    And why only a A64 3200? Why not faster? Unless cost is a huge issue...
     
  8. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I'd upgrade one now and wait on the other. I haven't been keeping up on any expectations for the new SLI stuff. PCI-E is pretty prevelant now. I wish I had gotten a PCI-E board and 939 chip, DOH
     
  9. grimjaw

    grimjaw 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Posts:
    944
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seymour, TN
    Its clocks about as fast as a 53 FX for about a quarter the cost. If it was just one system, no problem. The trouble is I learned a while back build both my wifes and my system equal. It makes for a happy house.

    CPUs are the major hold up. With in six month there will be a major change in the tech. Also, right now the systems I have are not being stressed by much. Video is my weak link so I my just grab two BFG GeForce 6800GTs and make do.
     
  10. Zeus33rd

    Zeus33rd Smarter than you GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Posts:
    7,324
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA
    A FX-53 is 2.4ghz. An A64 3200+ is 2.0ghz. 400mhz is a big difference. Not to mention the 512kb difference in L2 cache. The 3200 has 512, the FX-53 has 1mb. I'm not knocking that chip, but comparing it's performance to a FX-53 is like comparing a TBI truck motor to a TPI Vette motor.
     
  11. TorkDSR

    TorkDSR 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bucks co pa
    i have 2 moniters
     
  12. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX

    /me walks away with his head hung low
     
  13. grimjaw

    grimjaw 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Posts:
    944
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seymour, TN
    Read young Jedi...

    The 3200+ Overclocks very easily and will beat down a stock FX-53. The AMD Athlon 64 3200+ 512K 90nm Rev. E currently sells for $199 while the FX-53 sells for $725. I think I would rather have the $526 to spend on video card AND motherboard than on the difference between the two.
     

Share This Page