Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Newbie 203 question

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Quaddawg, Dec 15, 2004.

1. Quaddawg

Quaddawg 1/2 ton status

Hey guys, great site. I am new to 4x4ing, but not mechanics in general, or off road (quads.... hence the nickname)

I just bought a 78 K10 and am in the process of finding out what all has been done to it. It's my first 4x4, and I am learning, so don't laugh......:p:

See the "introduce yourself" thread for more particulars..

My question is this.. I have a np203, but the truck has locking hubs on the Dana, I am guessing that someone has a installed a part-time kit in it, but what is the easiest way for me to tell for sure???

Also, what is the easiest way to figure out what gears I have? I know I can pull a cover and count teeth, or look for markings, is that the only way, or easiest way? can I jack a tire, and turn the wheel one revolution while counting revs of the driveshaft? (or vice versa) I know it would be hard to get it exact, but I could get in the ball park couldn't I?? (NOOB!!) I have to repair the speedo, and I don't have a tach yet, so I can't check the charts to get close

any help would be appreciated, I won't stay a noob too long, I am a quick learner;)

2. dremu

dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

Umm, put it into what you think is 2WD, and see if the front driveshaft moves. Much easier if you have two people :whistle:

That or jack all four corners up, and see which if 2WD moves all four wheels :D

Shift pattern should now be 4LO all the way forward, then 2LO, neutral, 2HI, and 4HI ... I think. Search for it. I only ever use 4LO and 2HI, and that should be all the way forward, and one up from the back.