Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Newbie advice - buying a '78 Blazer

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by ymatt, Jun 12, 2000.

1. ymatt

ymatt Registered Member

Newbie advice - buying a \'78 Blazer

Hello. I will be looking at a '78 K5 Blazer that is for sale here in the UK some time this week. Apparently, everything is OK apart from the automatic transmission. What sort of cost am I looking at for a replacement or rebuild? (The engine is a 350 V8, so I assume the tranny is a TH350). I would much prefer a manual transmission; is it possible to swap in a manual box?

I am totally new to Blazers, any purchase advice etc. would be much appreciated.

P.S. Great to see that the board is so active!

2. J.R.

J.R. Guest

Re: Newbie advice - buying a \'78 Blazer

ymatt,welcome to ck5,with the k5 you are looking at a rebuild t350 here were im at would cost about $350-450 for a good rebuild,depending on what you have done to it.you can switch it to a manual,its more work,but there are a couple guys here on this site that are selling everything you will need to do it.talk to jim rose,his user name is blazer454,he did a conversion on his 84.he is also selling his 4sp setup.good luck

BIGBLOCK MAN

3. ymatt

ymatt Registered Member

Thanks for your help, J.R.

I went to look at the K5 yesterday and had it delivered today (I bought it from http://www.chasetruck.co.uk). Wow, what a beast! I love it! And as a bonus, it's a Cheyenne with lots of nice options. Shame about this country's absurd fuel prices though.

The truck needs a fair bit of work, so I'm going to do a full restoration. No doubt I'll be making good use of this forum!

4. James90

James90 1/2 ton status

welcome to the to CK5 this place will solve all your porbs