Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Newbie Here! and 3/4 ton questions?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by K5RON, Apr 14, 2001.

1. K5RON

K5RON 1/2 ton status

First of all "Hello!" from the east coast. Just wanted to say this forum is a wealth of knowledge for the K5.

I'm a '84 K5 owner for about two years and have lurked around here for several months before registering. My K5's condition when purchased is best described as "Being saved from the crusher". After countless hours of bodywork and more mig wire than the average welding supply store stocks, it's condition is now solid, but ugly! Not that that's a bad thing! Prolly 'cause it is painted OD green.

When purchased my wife said, "I'm not driving that friggin' thing!" Now we tend to fight over who gets to drive it. It's my first Blazer, and I found it to be most versatile.

Recently, I purchased a set of 3/4 ton rears (D44/Corp. 14 bolt FF) and with the assurance of this forum that they are interchangable with some minor mods.

After purchasing, I opened the diff covers. The D44 first, Primo!, a perfect set of gears with no rust or tooth damage. Now for the 14 bolt, ARGH! Rust (pit marks on the ring gear), although I seen worse!

Now for the questions:

Are 14 bolt R&P's comparably priced with other R&P's?

How do you adjust pinion and carrier bearing preload?

Is a R&P change necessary or can I have the ring gear just bead blasted? (Keep in mind that this is more of a tough truck than that of a show piece)

Are the brakes worth while rebuilding or go disc?(I'm finding out that 14 bolt drums are worth they're weight in gold)

Sorry for the first post to be so long but I need some advice.