Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Newbie here. Just inherited '86 K5 Blazer 4x4. Got questions.

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by tungsten, Oct 29, 2003.

1. tungsten

tungsten 1/2 ton status

Newbie here. Just inherited \'86 K5 Blazer 4x4. Got questions.

Hey folks...

First of all, I'm a newbie here and was referred to this site by one of the users on a regional message board that I run here in Tennessee. Word about ColoradoK5.com gets around!

Second, I just inherited a 1986 K5 Blazer 4x4 as a result of my grandfather passing away last month. The truck is what you would expect of a 17yr old vehicle that has had regular maintenance done but has sat out in the weather all of its life. Bone stock with a small 305ci engine and oxidized paint, but essentially a diamond in the rough.

My plans for the vehicle are to use it as my daily driver this winter so that my wife can drive our Heap Grand Cherokee and my Mustang can sit in the garage. As soon as more favorable weather hits, I want to start restoring the Blazer and replacing things that need to be replaced. It has strong sentimental value for me, so there's no way I am going to let it become a true "beater" vehicle.

From searching and reading here, it looks like I want to buy a Tuff Country lift kit for the ole truck. It's going to be a 99.9% onroad vehicle that may see 0.1% of light offroad use every now and again. Like I said, it's got sentimental value so I don't want to take it out and beat it apart on the trails. /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif