Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Newbie here-Proper "lock-lock" steering adjustment???

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 78k20, Feb 28, 2004.

1. 78k20

78k20 Registered Member

Newbie here-Proper \"lock-lock\" steering adjustment???

First off, I've been reading/searching this place for a month or so now, and wanted to say THANK YOU to everyone on here for such great information! Looks like a great group of people here with a TON of valuable info.

Now, my wife and I bought our first "project" here a few months ago-a '78 K20 pickup for hunting/camping and towing smaller tailers, as well as light-moderate 'wheelin. A daily driver as well for my wife, as I commute some 70 miles one way! At any rate, I want to build it "tough", but do not need a full-on trail rig. The truck had a new paint, new 2" lift and new 35's when we bought it and I'm currently working on the steering as we speak. The problem-leaking gearbox, leaking pump, loose shaft, bent tie-rod and worn out ends, and bent steering stabilizer shaft. Also, horrible wandering on the highway-downright scary in any wind, and something "popping" under the front end while turning.