Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Newbie intro and some questions

Discussion in '1969-1972 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by slowpoke, Oct 1, 2003.

1. slowpoke

slowpoke Newbie

Howdy all, I got a 72 located in south Texas, near Corpus Christi. Gots lotta firewall rust, windshield frame rust, toooo much rust for resto in my book. So I am thinkin trail rig, cut the windshield, full cage, tractor puller style headers( thru the hood),cut the fenders- front a rear etc.
    I am new to blazers and gots me a new toy. I recently sold my last toy which was a Samuria, had 512's locked up 4-1 case, 33's, exo roll cage,plus a host of other stuff. Now its time for me to move up to v8 power.

So whats a good slinky type suspension...flexy? Another BBS suggested BDS. Whats the largest tire 1/2 ton axles can handle with lockers? I will have more questions later on , but wanna search the forums 1st before posting too much.
    THe coolest part is my wife and kids love 4wheeling, so the Blazer is a go.
    btw it says CST on the glove box emblem, think it got 4.10's fromn the factory? I'll have it here next to check it all out.
    thx

2. clubba68

clubba68 1/2 ton status

I don't believe that BDS makes a suspension system for 1st gens. From what I have heard the Tuff Country EZ Rides have the softest spring rate that you can buy. I think probably the softest you can get is the EZ ride suspension up front with a Echobit or ORD shackle flip in the rear with the longer leaf springs. Someone will know what the longer springs are that I am talking about and where you can get them. I can't remember off the top of my head because I never wanted to go that way.
    Another way to go would be to have custom leaf packs made specifically for your application and desires.