Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

newbie needs some guidance

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by l_niemetz, Oct 25, 2003.

1. l_niemetz

l_niemetz Registered Member

hello everyone, im a newbie here with a newbie question. i have a 77 k5 sitting in my driveway with the whole rear of the body off. i need to replace pretty much from the cab back, and the floor boards. for sale near me is a late 80's k5 with all the body parts i would need. here is my question, would the 80s bed and rear quarters, and most importantly the 77 cap all fit together? and bolt on? i can drill holes to mount to the frame etc. but i really need to know if my 77 cap will fit on the late 80s bed. i can get the exact year on monday, ill post if that would help. but like i said its about 85 or younger (i cant remember what the dude told me when i talked to him a couple weeks ago) the 80s and 77 caps look the same, and if the style of body (like the rear 80s and front 77 quarter panels) look different or dont match up its ok because i have all the original front. one more thing, would the 80s grill fit in the old 77s spot? or would modification for hanging older body panels be necessary? thanks for reading this drawn out post, and any help thats provided.

2. azblazor

azblazor 1/2 ton status Premium Member

The tops are the same. The beds in the area of the footwell for the rear seat will be different between your and his. Grills will interchange between 73-80, and between 81-91. Unless you swap front clips.

3. l_niemetz