Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

newbie question

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by JROSS, Oct 17, 2001.

1. JROSS

JROSS 1/2 ton status

I'm picking up my fist Blazer this weekend. Yeh. I was wondering if I could get some help in terminology. Since I'm going from the strip to the rocks for the first time. What exactly does a detroit locker do? I've heard the term to describe rearends but don't understand what it does. Does it work with a stock 10-bolt or do you need a 12-bolt posi?

Thanks

Be Gentle, Its my first time!

2. Grim-Reaper

Grim-Reaper 3/4 ton status Author

Welcome to CK5.
    A Detroit. Or it's full name Detroit no spin is a locking differential. A differential is what lets the wheels on the axle spin at differnt speeds so that the vehicle will go around a corner easier. Problem is if your on a slick surface it one tire looses all all traction all the power will go to that wheel.
    This replaces the stock diff with a Diff that when power is applied it locks both wheels together for more traction.
    Available for most axles including the 10 or the 12 but I would not bother buying one for a 10. upgrade to a 12 at least 14 if your planning on going big.
    Tip...learn to wheel without one. you will become a better driver. then add it a year from know.

Women dig dents and flat paint!
    <a target="_blank" href=http://communities.msn.com/OffroadK5s>communities.msn.com/OffroadK5s</a>
    75 Jimmy, Dollar
    Grim-Reaper

3. JROSS

JROSS 1/2 ton status

How is that different from a posi diff?

4. TXsizeK5

TXsizeK5 1/2 ton status