Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Newbie questions...please help!

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by dsmd58, Apr 20, 2007.

1. dsmd58

dsmd58 1/2 ton status

Yes Im a newb too....kinda long but gimme a hand!

I just bought a 89 burb from a guy locally and had some quick questions so you guys could point me in the right direction on ANY of these things...so here goes.

1 - d60/14blt 4.56 gears - what is the largest safe tire size to run with this combo? i want to replace the A/T tires with some 39-40 inch swampers but am concerned about strength. i am already looking into crossover steering or just replacing the 4x4 steering box if i stay with 35's (cause the steering box seems really tired as it is), but at what size should i get a hydroboost system as well and is the gearing ok for 39 inch tires?

2 - he changed the 14blt rear to disc brakes off a 99 k2500, but the brake pedal goes to the floor. it stops but it has to reeeeaaallly travel before anything catches. is this common with that switch or where should i start looking for issues.

3 - on a 39.5 15inch wide swamper, can a 15x10 8 lug rim work? or do i need to go to a 12 inch wide rim?

thanks guys! i know that $25 fee was well spent just on these two questions alone!!!

pete

Last edited: Apr 20, 2007
  2. babyburb

babyburb 1/2 ton status

15X10- yes according to tirepackage.com

D60/14 stout enough. Might need to regear depending on engine tranny combo and RPM ranges. I have 4.56 now and might go to 5.13s with the big meats when I get them.

As for the brakes, I am/was having the same prob with brake travel. I thought I had them blead good but front bleeders were completely stopped up with dirt and grime. I had to drill it out and rebleed.