Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

newbie questions, yes I searched

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by ncbloodhound, Jan 3, 2004.

1. ncbloodhound

ncbloodhound 1/2 ton status

I am new to blazers and working on vehicles, so please bear with me... /forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif

1. What are idler pulleys for? Belt tension? Mine has several flat spots on it and I was wondering it could be causing the squeaking and shuddering when idling. My chilton's manual doesn't say anything about it.

2. This one might sound stupid but...the tailgate on my blazer stops about 10 degrees from being parallel to the ground is that normal? I don't see how it could go down any further without hitting the bumper.

Thanks!

2. rjfguitar

rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

1. idler pullys are for shortning the length that your belt runs from one main pully to another to help control belt flop that leads to throwing a belt(belt comes off) also most idler pullies are adjustible and are used to make the belt adjustment, on most of our trucks it is the brackets that are adjustible.

2. My tailgate comes down about level with the ground, maybe just a little bit higher at the top of the gate. Your tailgate would have to fall down a long waise for it to hit the bumper. It will only go down as far as the straps will let it. I'm sure your tailgate is fine if it comes down almost all the way to level.

3. ncbloodhound

ncbloodhound 1/2 ton status

[ QUOTE ]
    1. idler pullys are for shortning the length that your belt runs from one main pully to another to help control belt flop that leads to throwing a belt(belt comes off) also most idler pullies are adjustible and are used to make the belt adjustment, on most of our trucks it is the brackets that are adjustible.