Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Newbie Questions

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Chopperhead, Feb 22, 2007.

1. Chopperhead

Chopperhead Newbie

Ok well like it says im a newbie. ive been reading threw alot of posts on here and ive managed to just confuse myself. so i'll just ask you guys for some clarification.

ok well first of what the heck is a shackle flip??

whats a zeroleaf??

how do you extend a drive shaft?? to me i thought I would need to just buy a longer one as i dont see how you can extend a solid shaft without cutting it up and loosing it's structural intgity?

also how can someone with only a 4 or 6in lift be able to clear tires that people with larger 8in lifts can't?? I seen some of the pics in that what your truck will look like thread and it doesnt make much sense to me how one truck thats much lower has bigger tires trouble free and larger truck has trouble.?? I ask cause I wanna make sure I do the right thing for I wanna do eventually and arnt dissapointed.

Thanks
    Kyle

2. ct85k10

ct85k10 1/2 ton status

shackle flip
    http://www.offroaddesign.com/catalog/shacklekit.htm

zerorate
    http://www.offroaddesign.com/catalog/Zero%20Rates.htm

and as for fitting diffrent tires with diffrent lifts its all in the:hack:and the:grind: it depends on how much you trim

hope this helps

3. TexasBlazerBoy

TexasBlazerBoy 1/2 ton status

Check out DIY4x and Offroad Design.

Welcome

Larry

4. badger red

badger red 1/2 ton status

Driveshafts aren't solid--they're hollow. To extend a driveshaft, one just cuts the ends off and welds in a longer tube. Welcome...

5. cbbr

cbbr 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

6. djsblaze

djsblaze 1/2 ton status