Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Newbie wants to know how stout IS a diesel 700R4

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 4DiggerDan, Feb 4, 2003.

1. 4DiggerDan

4DiggerDan 1/2 ton status

Howdy gents. I'm the newbie thats been adding all the posts to the engine related stuff over here. Like a good hillbilly, I sandbagged over here for a week or two before I registered and made posts.

Anyhow, I'm an engine machinist with a serious 4 digger habbit. I bought a K5 from a gal local that had a blown up 6.2 diesel in it. I hate 6.2 diesels... It just so happens that I was in the process of building a roller cam 383 stroker on a late roller TBI block when this truck just sorta landed in my lap. It should be in the neighborhood of 430 horse, 480 Ft/Lbs at the crank. It has a 700R4 in it now, with what I think is a NP208 (Its big, its part time and it ain't a NP205.) I was told that the diesel and 3/4 ton 700's have bigger shafts than the RWD and 1/2 ton 700's. How much abuse will this combo take before it pops? I wheel pretty hard, but I'm good on maintenance. The plan is to go with a 4" lift, and 3/4 ton axles (early Dana 44 with the big wheel bearings, and a 14 bolt) and whatever metric tire comes close to 34" on 16" wheels. What I pull for gears will depend on which tranny I run. With an overdrive tranny I'd be thinking 4.56's.

Next question... Will a NP205 bolt up to the 700R4? I'm not worried about fabricating a crossmember for it. I can handle that.