Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

newbie with some AK-57 questions

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by l_niemetz, Dec 18, 2003.

1. l_niemetz

l_niemetz Registered Member

Hi everyone, newbie K5er here with some questions. Heres the lowdown. I have an 84 K5 with a stock suspension, I have a Dana 44 front axle and a GM 12 bolt rear both from a 77 K5 that I am going to swap under the 84. For a suspension I am seriously considering the AK-57 setup for the rear, the questions I have are: a. how much lift will that get me in the rear, and b. what are some good ideas to get the front end up as high as the rear? I want to run 35-37 inch wheels as I am new to wheeling with anything bigger than 33". I would imagine a one or two inch bodylift would help clear the size tires I want to run, and I am lifting the body off in the springtime to sandblast the frame so a bodylift isnt out of the question. well, I figured Id ask you guys first before I call up the AK ppl and bother them. Thanks in advance, this site rocks /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif!

2. zakk

zakk 1/2 ton status

4-6" lift

for 35-37" tires, i'd go 4" and cut the fenders.

3. l_niemetz

Hey thanks zakk, yeah i probably will be trimming anyhow, this rig is a trail machine, not a show truck. So you are saying I could go 4 or 6 inches, whichever i prefer? And any ideas on the front? I would love to hear what some other people are running in front of their AK-57 rears. Thanks again from a humble (poor) bluebie, lol.

4. zakk

zakk 1/2 ton status

i got the 5" springs in the front with the 5" "springer/Ak-57" kit in the back. love it.

got pics in the sigs.

5. l_niemetz

Hey nice rig zakk. So what size springs are those in the front to give you 5" of lift? And what did you do about the steering arm etc? Thanks again.

6. Triaged