Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

No doors!! Is it legal?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by BlitzK5, Oct 21, 2005.

1. BlitzK5

BlitzK5 1/2 ton status

Are driving without doors legal? Jeeps do it all the type and they are built to come off, So it must be right?

Last edited: Oct 21, 2005
  2. badfish4tail

badfish4tail 1/2 ton status

Dont know :confused:
    But that is a good question :D

3. txfiremank5

txfiremank5 1/2 ton status

I believe the law in Texas is:

If the top is removable, then the doors can be taken off too. Side mirrors are not needed to keep it legal .. just a rearview .. or perhaps it's at least one mirror somewhere to see behind you. It's something along those lines anyway.

4. ryan22re

ryan22re 1/2 ton status

when i was a vehicle inspector in maryland, the only thing that was written about doors ans mirrors went something like this:

the driver's window has to roll down. not up. if window is down at time of inspection it passes.

drivers door must open from inside and outside the vehicle. no door no problem.

need either an inside mirror and driver's mirror, or both outside mirrors and no inside mirror. including jeeps.

ryan

5. shane74

shane74 1/2 ton status

YOu need something to keep all the crud from spilling out. Jeeps have a lip for that. Our rigs don't. You might get pulled over for that, but that's really it. I ran w/out doors for a whole summer and most of fall and never got pulled over. I even sat next to cops at stoplights and stuff and never had a problem. A couple of them smiled and waived :laugh:

6. BlitzK5

BlitzK5 1/2 ton status

You should have gave them the finger and then drive over them in your Blazer LOL

7. 6.2Blazer

6.2Blazer 1/2 ton status