Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Now In Stereo

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Jagged, Jan 20, 2006.

1. Jagged

Jagged 1 ton status

Not wanting to start another toolbox thread...

I love music, I listen to it all. A few years back when I graduated High School all I wanted for graduation gifts was some cash so I could get a decent stereo system. Five years later I still have the same components, and they sound as great as they did the first day!

CD Changer: Sony CDP-CE375
    Receiver: Technics SA-DX750
    Speakers: JBL Northridge N28

I use the optical output from the CD player, not RCA. My PS2 is also connected through optical cabling as well (for audio only, I use the S-Video output from the PS/2 for the S-Vid input on my TV). It would be awesome if the reciever had S-Video in/out.

It's a pretty good "mid-price system" for it's time. I thought long and hard about prior experience (not mine, but my dad as a broadcast engineer for radio stations). The Sony CD players the stations use had less problems than other brands. JBL was the brand of choice for monitor speakers. I went with the Technics reciever out of budget (really wanted the nice Yamaha, but couldn't afford the $$$), and because my dad had a Technics reciever that was at least 20 years old and still going strong.

The reciever gets pretty hot during use, but I've left it on for days without a problem. The JBL N28 speakers are about perfect for a "dorm room" sized area, although a small sub would be nice for the lowrange. The CD player is pretty forgiving on scratched CD's, and has performed flawlessly.

So, what setup do you got? :D

2. surpip

surpip 1 ton status

jbl tower, and surround speakers
    kenwood reciever
    kenwood center channel(came with the rx)