Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Np 208 to 205?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Openheader2002, Feb 21, 2006.

1. Openheader2002

Openheader2002 Registered Member

I am new to the 4x4 world, I usually stick to cars. All this transfer case swap talk is giving me a headache. I have a 1989 suburban with a np208 case and I would like to swap a 205 in with a twin stick kit. Anyone know what has to be done to the driveshafts? I fully expect to have custom ones made up, but measurments would be nice. The truck is lifted 4 inches. And are any modifcations nessecary to bolt the 205 to a turbo400? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

2. jekbrown

jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

Wasn't 89 the year they started using 241s? Sure you have a 208? Either way...

You pretty much have to get the t-case bolted in and measure both at full compression and full droop... or at least as close as you can get. Measurements from other people's trucks is never going to be quite right. Believe me, I used measurements from other people... and it isn't worth the time saving. Do it once and do it right, its always the cheapest way in the long run. This truck isn't your DD... is it?

Good question... the 400 may have a different length output shaft when mated to a 208 than a 205. I'm not a guru on late np205s/adapters... but pulling your t-case off and taking a measurement of how far out the trannys shaft extends beyond the housing will help a lot. I'm sure someone knows the answer off the top of their head tho...

j

3. Openheader2002

thanks