Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

NP 280 Torque mount

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by rcamacho, Oct 29, 2004.

  1. rcamacho

    rcamacho 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WA
    I'm running an '87 with an NV4500 and an NP208(blah). There is a standard transmission mount on the Nv4500 connecting to the crossmember.

    Q: Do I also need a torque mount on the 208? There is a provision for one on the case, but there does not appear to be a mount on the frame rail. If so, any hints as to where to find one?
     
  2. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    It runs to the front , not the crossmember , I left mine in swapping cases , but I think it runs to a bellhousing bolt . So look for one of those and you may have to cut and sleeve it to match the distance /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     
  3. Rolled

    Rolled 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2002
    Posts:
    683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anchorage, Alaska
    pauly is correct, the torque rod bolts to the pass side bellhousing bolt...
     
  4. CyberSniper

    CyberSniper 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Posts:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Chelsea, MI
    There's a rod that runs from the passenger side of the case to the passenger side upper bellhousing bolt.
     
  5. rcamacho

    rcamacho 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WA
    Anyone have pictures of the mounts?
     

Share This Page