Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

NP205 and 700R4

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by CK5, May 19, 2000.

  1. CK5

    CK5 In my underwear Administrator Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 1999
    Posts:
    21,623
    Likes Received:
    701
    Location:
    CO
    OK, I must have seen this question asked a million times, but never really paid enough atention I guess. I am thinking about swapping my NP241 for a NP205, I need to know what all is involved, Does the 205 nedd to come from a th350? I think I need the crossmember as well adapters? Also will my spedo cable bolt right in? I know I will need a new output shaft in the tranny and new drive shafts, any thing else?

    Steve
     
  2. BIGJ

    BIGJ 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    896
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Arkansas
    There are a couple of different ways to go here. It would be best to find a 205 from a th350 b/c the splines would match the 700r4. Or you can swap a fine splined input gear into a 205 from a sm465. Or maybe you could get a coarse splined output for the tranny? I called ord and asked them. You definitely need the adapter and sleeve and the crossmembers. I am installing mine this weekend so I'll let you know how it goes and if the speedo cable bolts up.

    BIGJ
     
  3. blazer72

    blazer72 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2000
    Posts:
    939
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KCMO
    The t400 uses the fine spline 32, the t350 uses 27, also some early t400, the 465 uses a 10 spline.
     
  4. DBLAZER

    DBLAZER 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2000
    Posts:
    1,716
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Haslet, Tx
    here is the easiest way, get an atlass!!!! (jk)

    89K5 payed 3k for the rig, spent almost 7k in the last 6 months on upgrades!!!!
     
  5. jimmyjack

    jimmyjack 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 11, 2000
    Posts:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson Az
    I have an '83 Blazer and wanted to stick in a 350 and a NP 205 but was told by two tranny shops that the 205 would not fit my Blazer. I didn't get into why not too much with them. Kind of wish I would've cos I had my hands on a 205 for 150 bucks. If anyone knows WHY a 205 won't fit into an 83 please lemme know.

    creepin and crawlin
    Jim
     
  6. BIGJ

    BIGJ 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    896
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Arkansas
    Just to give an update on the 205 swap. I dropped the tranny earlier last week and took it to get the short shaft installed. It was around $65.00 for the labor. The speedo cable does fit but the input for the cable was on the driver's side of the 205. The cable was originally on the passenger side when I had a 208, so I had to run it on the other side. You will also need 2 longer top bolts for the adapter where it bolts into the tranny. The bolts are 10mm. I also had to drill new holes for the crossmember.

    BIGJ
     

Share This Page