Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

NP205 front output yoke spline count?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by TX Mudder, Oct 20, 2002.

  1. TX Mudder

    TX Mudder 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2000
    Posts:
    2,514
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    I have a 76 NP205 (uses yoke for front output.)
    Anyone know the spline count?
    It has the 1310 yoke up there and I'm thinking about going 1350.
    -- Mike
     
  2. m j

    m j 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,606
    Likes Received:
    0
    i think it can be either 10 or 20something in that year
     
  3. TX Mudder

    TX Mudder 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2000
    Posts:
    2,514
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    The input shaft for the 205 is 10-spline, but I'm needing to figure out the spline count for the front output yoke.
    Anyone?
     
  4. TX Mudder

    TX Mudder 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2000
    Posts:
    2,514
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    I found this on ORD's site.

    </font><blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr />
    NP205 front output shafts:
    Change your weaker 10 spline shaft to a stronger fine spline version in either 30 or 32 spline. Both the 30 and 32 spline are very strong, the practical difference is the 32 spline shaft has more yoke options available.
    30 spline front output shaft for NP205 - $110.00
    32 spline front output shaft for NP205 - $120.00

    [/ QUOTE ]

    So, I need a yoke with 10-splines, I guess.
    -- Mike
     
  5. m j

    m j 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,606
    Likes Received:
    0
    it can be 10 or 30, i was off by a few.
    my early 77 is the 30 spliner so you should pull yours to be sure.
    i recall something about flanges not being available for 10 spline so if you have a flange it is 30
     

Share This Page