Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

NP205 mating to 700R4

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Liberator, Sep 7, 2004.

  1. Liberator

    Liberator 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Posts:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Communist California
    I know this has been asked back when I used to post a lot, but I couldn't find anything in the search. I can't remember for the life of me whether I can take the NP205 from my '81 with a TH350 (this combo is from a '77) and mate it to my '87 700R4? Are the output shafts the same? Can I just take the NP205 and adapter and bolt it right up to the 700R4?

    Bo
     
  2. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    You will need a spacer or a different shorter output shaft for the tranny.

    Your TH350/205 adapter will bolt up to the 700R4.
     
  3. Liberator

    Liberator 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Posts:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Communist California
    The adapter will bolt right up but the tranny output shaft is too long? I don't quite understand. I figured I would need a new drive sleeve at the most. I wasn't aware the tranny output shaft was too long.

    Bo
     
  4. BobK

    BobK 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2000
    Posts:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Petrolia,Ontario,Canada but working in Port Huron,
    I've heard of some guys cutting down the output shaft.I don't know how much spline is left if you go that route though.
    Never seen it done,just heard about it.
     
  5. TorkDSR

    TorkDSR 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bucks co pa
    yeah, the shaft is too long, advance adapters sells a new one
     
  6. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,031
    Likes Received:
    366
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    use the spacer. It costs $50, it works, you dont have to tear down your entire tranny to install it.. and once installed your driveshaft wont be hitting your trannys oil pan either... /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

    j
     
  7. TorkDSR

    TorkDSR 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bucks co pa
    mine doesnt hit the pan but there is about 2 c.h. clearance... /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif
     
  8. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,031
    Likes Received:
    366
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    lol, whatever you do, dont ever jump your rig. /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

    i run a deeep AL tranny pan and its not even really close to my HAD shaft. Im a big fan of using the spacer. Its cheaper and easier, doesnt get much better than that. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

    j
     
  9. arq

    arq 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2001
    Posts:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Imperial Valley/Maricopa
    anyone have any pics of where it would hit? does it matter if it comes with flat flange or yoke style front output.

    thanks,

    ARQ.
     
  10. Liberator

    Liberator 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Posts:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Communist California
    Where can I get the spacer?
     

Share This Page