Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

np205 question, please help!!!!

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Project, May 11, 2003.

  1. Project

    Project Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Posts:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    rock hill, sc
    hi guys,
    i have a question that i know it looks funny to you guys but i need the answer!
    where is the fill plug on the np205 transfer case? i've found 3 plugs on it, there is one at the bottom that i know is a drain plug(smart ass /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif), second one is in the middle, and third one is on the top, but the top one is kind of weird, it's like a round plug . is this the one i'm looking for or i just gotta put the oil from the middle one like differential!!!!
    thanks,
    chris
     
  2. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    I don't know for sure about a 205, but I would guess the middle plug is the filler. That is the way it is on my 208.
     
  3. BadDog

    BadDog SOL Staff Member Super Moderator Author

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2001
    Posts:
    7,777
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    It's the top one on the back. The only thing I can think of on the top that you might be seeing is on of the detent plugs...
     
  4. Project

    Project Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Posts:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    rock hill, sc
    i didn't find any plug on the back, all plugs are on the same side like this combo---->
    .............................*1
    ................................*2
    ..............................*3
    and another question, is there any tunel betwin tranny and transfer case? if there is, i filled the tranny but there is no oil in the transfer case!!!!
     
  5. mosesburb

    mosesburb For Rent Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Posts:
    2,175
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    I'm not trying to get wise here, but are you sure you have a 205? If you're sure then locate the plate on the back of the t/case that is retained with the three bolts. The fill plug will be located about 1 inch below and a fuzz to the left of that three bolt plate. I have 3 NP205's in my garage and they all have the fill plug in the same location. I can't locate the third plug you are referring to as all of mine have only two plugs back there, but if you find the three bolt plate and the plug below it, you're filling the right hole /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif.
     
  6. bigjbear

    bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    13,973
    Likes Received:
    453
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    Back, as in aft side. No tunnel; they are, or at least should be, sealed from oneanother.
     
  7. TNS10HYBRID

    TNS10HYBRID Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Posts:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just like Big Bear says.
     
  8. Project

    Project Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Posts:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    rock hill, sc
  9. Project

    Project Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Posts:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    rock hill, sc
  10. Project

    Project Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Posts:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    rock hill, sc
    another question(i know, i know), how do you connect the shifter to it.?!!!!any picture, tip, ....
     
  11. BadDog

    BadDog SOL Staff Member Super Moderator Author

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2001
    Posts:
    7,777
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    The drain/fill plugs are on the same side as the rear output (i.e. the back). Square headed pipe plugs.

    Now you have me completely confused. You show a late 465 with 32 spline output and a round adapter. And you show an earlier 10 spline 465 205 with figure 8 adapter pattern. In any case, if you have round patern 205, the input bearing retainer has the seal. Otherwise the seal is in the adapter.

    The cross plate in this picture connects the two shift rails, and the shifter connects to the cross plate.
     
  12. Project

    Project Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Posts:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    rock hill, sc
    thanks for information guys,
    i got it filled and hooked the shifter up.that picture is the old picture, i got a good deal on that tranny,i changed the output shaft to 10 spline and got adapter for it(cost me around 350 bucks /forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif).another question, whats a shifting order on the transfer case?!!!
    it's funny that i'm asking all these question but the truth is i never had a chevy truck(4x4) befor and i just put the 350 motor in my toyota truck, thats why i'm asking all these stupid questions! /forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif
     
  13. Chris_T

    Chris_T 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saskatoon, SK
    Startting fron the dash

    4 Lo
    N
    2 Hi
    4 Hi
     
  14. Project

    Project Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Posts:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    rock hill, sc
    great man, when i wanna shift to 4x4, i need full stop or i can shift it in low speed too? and also where to find a short shifter for sm465 tranny ???!!!
     
  15. BadDog

    BadDog SOL Staff Member Super Moderator Author

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2001
    Posts:
    7,777
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    You have to stop to shift a 205. You may even have to rock, put it in park, reverse, etc. Though the worst is generally getting *OUT* of 4 WD Low range... For a short shifter, no clue other than shorten the stock sifter and rethread.
     
  16. m j

    m j 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,606
    Likes Received:
    0
    if your hubs are locked in...

    - you can shift from 2hi to 4hi at any speed.
    - shifting from hi to lo is a bit harder, you must double your engine rpm once you get the TC shifter into nuetral then slide it into Lo, maybe this cant be done with an auto

    it is always easier to shift with the vehicle rolling a bit
     
  17. BadDog

    BadDog SOL Staff Member Super Moderator Author

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2001
    Posts:
    7,777
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Yeah, now that you mention it I have shifted from 2H to 4H on the fly with a 205 numerous times back when I lived in AL (dirt trails/hills and mud), but never successfully between ranges. I wasn't thinking 2H to 4H when I replied, these days I'm generally going 2H to 4L and back, don't remember the last time I use 4H... The 205 is non-sync but I'm sure a manual trans with a skilled operator could do a range shift on the fly, heavy truck/equipment opeators do it all the time. With an auto, I don't know...
     
  18. m j

    m j 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,606
    Likes Received:
    0
    some 205s have syncs(auto hub apps??), not that I think they would work
    syncs are in the way of a good shift /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif
    if you lift for a split sec to get the box into N and stop wheelspin so all 4 wheels are same rpm
    then slam it hard enough while flooring
    it will go into 4lo

    you know, the 'oh oh this hole is too much for 2wdr' moments
     

Share This Page