Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

NP241 questions

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by nine-oh, Apr 10, 2005.

1. nine-oh

nine-oh Registered Member

Hey guys, I just swapped an NP205 out in favor of a 241. I installed a JB "super short" sye kit. In the instuctions it says to note the orientation of the mode ring but it doesn't state which side goes toward the front of the case. Unfortunately I bought the T/C as a basket case so I have no idea which way it was originally. One side is longer and has a larger OD and the smaller OD side is longer and is tapered, anyone know which side goes where? I have assembled the case with the ring in both ways and it doesn't seem to make a difference.

Shift pattern: I have limited experience with the chain driver NP cases (jeepTJ 231 and Ford 271) but any I have used go 2hi, 4hi, N, 4low. This 241 (from a 90 p/u) goes 4hi, 2hi, N, 4low :confused: is this a normal 241 pattern or is this thing an odd ball? At first I thought that I must have reassembled it wrong after installing the SYE but the more I look at it the more I think there's no way to put it together wrong and cause this problem. Any input?

Thx

2. Mad-Dog

Mad-Dog 1/2 ton status

I don't have the answers, but i do have a question: what is a T/C and why did you choose to lose the 205.....

Definition of NP205 as stated in websters dictionary: bullet-proof, indestructable, unbreakable, rock-crusher, gear-driven, torque-eating, horsepower hungry, HEAVY, etc etc etc

3. surpip

surpip 1 ton status

T/C= transfer case

my 241 goes from 2hi-4hi-N-4lo its a 89

never seen the pattern you have described eaither????

4. nine-oh

Yeah, thats what I thought...goofy pattern or somethings really wrong :frown1: