Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

nuetral saftey switch

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by big83chevy4x4, Mar 9, 2005.

  1. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    i can't find my scematics, can this be left unpluged and still start? also which one is the nuetral saftey switch and which is the reverse light switch?
     
  2. jekquistk5

    jekquistk5 Weld nekid Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Posts:
    11,030
    Likes Received:
    858
    Location:
    Pinckney, MI
    Not sure... but on my K5 the switch is broken. Wont start in nuetral, and I have no reverse lights. Its towards the bottom of the colum. I thinks its one unit though. Sorry I wasn't able to help ya out last weekend... that last weekend was crazy
     
  3. folkenheath

    folkenheath Worthless Trash Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    4,269
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    no, the switch closes the circuit, so it won't start if it's unplugged unless the wires are jumpered together. Both switches are the same part, and you can get a new AC one for about $10 - $15 at the parts store.
     
  4. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    im doing an auto to manual swap, so i don't need a new switch. ill have to figure out something then.

    thats ok jess, i only have a few things left to do.
     
  5. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    i tried to change the plug to fit the clutch switch, but i destroyed the old plug, so i took the switch off the auto column and plugged in the wire and zip tied it to a wire loom way up in the dash. works just fine. this was if i get another one i can still swap them over.
     
  6. spoolnaround

    spoolnaround 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Posts:
    1,419
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kingsburg Ca
    I have a paper clip as a jumper in mine, its on the clutch pedal assembly.
     
  7. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
    i always jump mine together with crimp connectors,,,

    especially in the 4 speed trucks, and any that ive swapped to auto from manual
    its real simple to do,

    good luck
     
  8. pvfjr

    pvfjr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Posts:
    2,425
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oakridge, OR
    Jumped mine too after the auto to manual swap.
     

Share This Page