Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

O/T: 3 Phase Wiring

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by willyswanter, Aug 10, 2003.

1. willyswanter

willyswanter 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

I'm a residential electrician which = single phase so I'm all confused and junk... I'm trying to wire up my mill which is 3 phase 220. I'm running a rotory phase converter with T1, T2, and T3 outputs. The mill has it's main breaker with the 3 lugs and a ground lug for an earth ground rod. Anywho, how do I know which leads go to which lug on the breaker? It's not labeled at all so... Does it matter?

2. FRIZZLEFRY

FRIZZLEFRY 1/2 ton status

The placement of L1,L2,and L3 isnt important.Just check rotation of your motor once ya get it hooked up.If its spinning the wrong way,just switch the placement of any two of the legs with eachother at the breaker or plug.

Make sence /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

3. willyswanter

Yeah that makes sense and I understand that as far as hooking directly to a motor. But this is a CNC machine with a ton of computer/logic junk hooked to this and I was told that if I hook the L3 to the wrong terminal on the breaker I can fry all tha stuff, or was the guy smokin crack? Thanks frizz /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

4. FRIZZLEFRY

FRIZZLEFRY 1/2 ton status

Iv got 11 CNC machines at work that are 3 phase,during the install or when I move them around the plant Iv never worried about where L1 L2 and L3 go.The manufacturers never specified one way or the other.I dont have a machine like yours though,the guy could be right but I aint no electrition /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

Isnt your mill a Tree?I just picked one up (for my shop at work) Its a 73 model,not CNC but its got a high dollar 3 axis display and a bunch of other stuff

5. willyswanter