Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

OBA pressure switch wiring

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Muddytazz, Sep 3, 2004.

  1. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    I'm having a brain fart /forums/images/graemlins/yikes.gif and can't figure out how to wire up my power source to the pressure switch to the compressor. Who has already hooked up there OBA that can take a pic of the wiring of their pressure switch and label the wiring for me? I'm using a 30A relay and need the wiring from the relay to the pressure switch to the compressor.
     
  2. thedrip

    thedrip 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Posts:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    you literally just put the pressure switch inline with the wire going from the relay to the compressor... its TOO simple really. =)
     
  3. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    Yeah i know its simple, thats prolly why I'm having a brain fart since there are 4 connections inside the pressure switch to hook up too or choose from /forums/images/graemlins/doah.gif
     
  4. thedrip

    thedrip 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Posts:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    its a double posted switch.. you can make 2 connections with it. you just need to use 2 that are connected at low pressured and unconnected at high pressure. probably a diagram that shows ya which are hooked to which.

    If its one of those big Square D ones, its actually for switching power to big 240V motors, where you need to switch more than one wire.
     
  5. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    [​IMG]
    This is the only diagram that came with the Sqaure D switch.
     
  6. thedrip

    thedrip 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Posts:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    I ran outside and checked my roommates truck.. use either the top two terminals, or the bottom two terminals in the picture. and don't bother grounding the case. Remember its setup for a/c wiring, where ground is seperate from the circuits. you don't need to ground it for ANY reason.
     
  7. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    Gotcha, thanks /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  8. thedrip

    thedrip 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Posts:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    Lemme know if it works. We've been using his (my roommates) for the last 6 months or so, built it with 3 caddy air suspension compressors. it aint the fastest, but it beats the hell out of an ARB compressor or driving 12 miles at 12psi to a gas station.
     
  9. TorkDSR

    TorkDSR 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bucks co pa
    how many amps is that rated at? you sure you dont want a relay inline?
     
  10. Shaggy

    Shaggy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2000
    Posts:
    6,737
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Banos, CA
    Guess I was too late with a picture. /forums/images/graemlins/doah.gif

    Sorry, Tazz. /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif
     
  11. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    Yes I am running a 30amp relay inline.


    Shaggy, would still love a pic if you can find the time /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  12. TorkDSR

    TorkDSR 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bucks co pa
    ok, using the relay, a fuse is the onlything left to worry about. /forums/images/graemlins/peace.gif
     
  13. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    I'm running a fuse also /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     

Share This Page