Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Oh crap -- how to fill a torque converter?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by dremu, Jun 28, 2005.

  1. dremu

    dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    15,954
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    East of San Francisco
    Umm, the torque converter gets its fluid from the transmission... right? I don't need to fill it before I put it in or anything?

    I keep wanting to say TC but then I think "transfer case".

    -- A
     
  2. trailblazr81

    trailblazr81 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Posts:
    931
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    You can look at TCI transmission websight. I think its a couple quarts in the torque converter then install, then add to tranny. But I know your not suppossed to install it dry. :grin:
     
  3. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,979
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    You can pour some in, just don't forget anything that reaches the hub with the converter as installed, is going to start leaking while you try to put it in. :)
     
  4. dremu

    dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    15,954
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    East of San Francisco
    And it's a mofo to install; they're heavy.

    And I installed it dry to boot... but no way am I pulling the 205, 203, and the TH350 for this thing. And the shafts. AAAAARGH. I've only put, I donno, a mile and a half on it like this, running it over to the muffler shop. No wonder it took so damn much fluid (9 or 10 qts, for tranny, torque-conv, cooler, etc.)

    So the torque-conv fills from the tranny, so I don't need to fill it from its drain plug or anything?

    -- A
     
  5. dremu

    dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    15,954
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    East of San Francisco
    fark. see above. :(

    -- A
     
  6. camiswelding

    camiswelding 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Posts:
    2,545
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Redding, CA
    1) make sure you installed everything correctly
    2) fill the tranny pan full... whatever size pan you have...
    3) have a couple of quarts ready and have someone start the truck adding fluid as soon as it starts running slowly... up to the max amount for your tranny and pan....in my case about 15 quarts for my th400 with external filter/cooler and deep pan
    4) check levels and confirm you are full....


    you dont want to overfill when you start it but you also dont want the pump to go dry sucking air.....

    Im going to look at tci's suggestions...hopefully they are close to what i told you


    cam
     
  7. afroman006

    afroman006 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Posts:
    2,876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    College Station & Kingsville, Texas
    ****! I installed my 400/205 and didnt put any fluid in it. I dont want to take it apart again...
     
  8. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    if you have a lockup converter, it is recomemded that you put 1 quart in the converter before you put it on the tranny. it helps to lube the clutch before it starts spinning. if you don't have a lockup converter, then you have nothing to worry about. if you do, its not going to hurt it. the first place thr fluid goes is the converter after entering the pump.
     
  9. down4thakrown

    down4thakrown 1/2 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Posts:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    flagstaff,az
    glad this post came up. i installed my dry too, but i havent started it yet and i gotta change the flexplate :mad: , i turned it over 2 or 3 revelutions, anybody think this could of hurt the tranny if it was dry? :crazy:
     

Share This Page