Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

oil choice

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Big GMC truck, Aug 24, 2005.

1. Big GMC truck

Big GMC truck Registered Member

What is the best conventional oil?

2. SUBFAN

SUBFAN 1/2 ton status

3. Indyblazer

Indyblazer Registered Member

CLEAN OIL IS the BEST!!!

Check your owners manual for the proper grade and viscosity. Then CHANGE IT & THE FILTER REGULARLY. All of the major brands will provide excellent lubrication if it is clean and the proper grade/viscosity for your vehicle. If you live in an area of the country that has COLD winters switch to the viscosity recommended for colder temps. I change the oil and filter in all five of my vehicles every 3,000 miles. (I do the change myself to save money)

4. kowe

kowe Newbie

I am a triple master technician at a Ford dealer and I use and recommend Valvoline. We use motorcraft but it is distributed by Valvoline with the motorcraft name on the bottle. I personaly have seen some nasty effects from years of using Penzoil. The owner changed his oil regularly but over time the Penzoil left a thick waxy type of build up in the engine till if eventually restricted oil flow to the rod bearings and cause a rod knock. As for other name brands I'm not sure, but just use a quality oil (not the .69 cent Pep Boys special) and change it regularly and your engine will last for years.

5. rick88blaze

rick88blaze 1/2 ton status

I personally run Valvoline. I know that Penzoil and Q-state both run wax and a lot of detergents in their oils. That is where the buildup comes from. I've used Valvoline for years now with no ill side effects.

Rick

6. RootBreaker

RootBreaker 3/4 ton status Premium Member