Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Oil pressure gauge at 0. Sending unit or pump? Help?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by BLzr4x4ngkid, Jan 20, 2001.

  1. BLzr4x4ngkid

    BLzr4x4ngkid 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    703
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    Occasionally the gauge will jump up a little, but for the past week it has been just hanging out at 0. I plan on going and buying a sending unit to see if that's the problem. Is there a way that I can check the pump and the sending unit to see what might be the problem? I don't really want to burn up my new Blazer's good engine.

    "Don't hit me with them negative waves so early in the morning." Odd Ball--Kelly's Hereos
     
  2. OFFRDK5

    OFFRDK5 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2000
    Posts:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Central IL
    Just to be on the safe side I would change my oil filter to make sure its not clogged. As you say its a new engine...maybe it deposited somthing in there for you to find!!!

    SK-15
    J**P...it's whats for dinner!
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://SK-15.coloradok5.com>http://SK-15.coloradok5.com</A>
    Roads? Where we're going, we don't need any roads!
     
  3. coopertwpk

    coopertwpk 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2000
    Posts:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Spring Valley Lake Ca.
    Fist check the wire into it its probably loose ,mine pegs out once in a while but most of the time hangs between 30 and 40 psi

    88k5 silverado w4"lift soon to have <font color=orange>d44 and corp14ff</font color=orange> with 4.56s
     
  4. rock.monkey

    rock.monkey 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2000
    Posts:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    100 Mile house B.C. Canada
    It's probably the sender. My 88 had the same thing happen, but , i also found out there is another oil pressure sensor on the block , if your O/P drops it cuts off the fuel so you dont cook your motor.

    Bill Innes
    88' Jimmy
    [​IMG]
     
  5. BLzr4x4ngkid

    BLzr4x4ngkid 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    703
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    Let me get this straight, if the oil pump stops, it cuts off the fuel? That's cool. I need to go check the sending unit. Thanks

    "Don't hit me with them negative waves so early in the morning." Odd Ball--Kelly's Hereos
     
  6. Grim-Reaper

    Grim-Reaper 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    7,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Probably a sender or wire problem. Personaly I would lay my hands on a cheap mechanical gage and check the pressure just to be sure. GM V8's can run for a LONG time with low oil pressure. I ran one for a year that only had 3psi at Idle 15PSI max on the gas. Never made any noise ran fine till the day I replaced it with a crate.
    [​IMG]

    Diging it in the dirt with my K5's
    Grim-Reaper
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://grimsk5s.coloradok5.com/>http://grimsk5s.coloradok5.com/</A>
     

Share This Page