Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Oil Pressure Gauge

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Nike, Oct 4, 2004.

  1. Nike

    Nike Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jefferson City, Missouri
    Trying to get my O/P gauge working. I have mixed some different years when assembling the dash and wiring, and I think I have an 83 speedometer and gauge assembly/printed circut etc. and maybe a later underhood wiring harness because it has a connection for a second oil pressure sender. Anyway when I turn the on the key electric gauge pegs to the highest reading. Anyone have this problem or a hot tip. Thanks Nike
     
  2. ColAdo82K5

    ColAdo82K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MO
    That means that your oil pressure wire is grounded out somewhere.
    Thinking about coming out to the Fall Crawl ?
    Blake
     
  3. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,979
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Are you using the large, bell shaped oil pressure sender?
     
  4. Nike

    Nike Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jefferson City, Missouri
    Yes I am using the large bell shaped sender, I tried the later model smaller one and got the same result. Also yes I am going to make the fall crawl on Saturday only. I would like to make the stock gauge work if possible, but if it doesn't happen I will hook some plastic tubing up with a plain pressure gauge. Any ideas are greatly appreciated. Thanks, Nike
     
  5. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,979
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    What happens when you disconnect the wire from the sender?

    It does sound as if the wire to the gauge is grounding out somewhere. No connection to the sender (ground) the gauge should sit at 0. If you ground the sender wire to the block, it should peg out at max.
     

Share This Page