Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Oil pressure gauge ?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by UseYourBlinker, Jun 5, 2001.

  1. UseYourBlinker

    UseYourBlinker 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2000
    Posts:
    11,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    .
    I have a 84K5 and the oil pressure gauge is stuck on 60..It doesn't move. My question is why?


    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://community.webshots.com/user/vwryda>http://community.webshots.com/user/vwryda</A>
     
  2. Pugsley

    Pugsley 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Posts:
    3,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson, Arizona
    My 85 did that, and it turned out that the sender was trashed. $11.85 at Autozone for a new one.

    I'm so poor I can't even pay attention [​IMG]
     
  3. Emmettology 101

    Emmettology 101 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2000
    Posts:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FL
    If you are not worried about the stock look, screw that stock gauge and get one you can rely on. Get an Autometer gauge! I run a mechanical Oil Press gauge by Autometer! That is one of the first things an engine builder otld me to by when I got my heads done a few years ago. (that and a water temp gauge) He didn't sell them, so it wasn't a money making pitch, he said the stock ones arenot reliable enough and sometimes read wrong.

    <font color=green>MIKE</font color=green> - "Hukd on fawnics,werkd fer me!"
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://emmett.coloradok5.com>http://emmett.coloradok5.com</A>
     
  4. newyorkin

    newyorkin 1 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Posts:
    16,555
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Los Estados Unitos
    Ditto to emmetology. Check your wire too. The guage will shoot up if the wire comes loose and it gets no readings.

    Walmart sells a triple guage set for $20. It ain't for show trucks, but it does the job...

    Ratch
    **<A target="_blank" HREF=http://k5.8m.com>http://k5.8m.com</A> What more is there to life?**
     
  5. UseYourBlinker

    UseYourBlinker 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2000
    Posts:
    11,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    .
    Thanks for the info guy's ...


    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://community.webshots.com/user/vwryda>http://community.webshots.com/user/vwryda</A>
     
  6. '73 K5

    '73 K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,763
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    Yea man, I just replaced my crappy, cheap aftermarket gauges(Sunpro, Equus) with Autometer/Autogage gauges. The movement is smoother, more accurate, I love them. I put them in my dash and I plan on posting a pic of that sometime soon. Check the board in the next day or so. The relocation was pretty easy.

    '73 K5
    Chevy good...Ford bad
     

Share This Page