Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

oil pressure line.

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 68MUDSTUD, Aug 24, 2006.

  1. 68MUDSTUD

    68MUDSTUD OCD with shiny things

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Posts:
    9,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MT
    im putting in a new factory tach gauge cluster into my 71 blazer, anyone know where i could get a new oil pressure line? thanks guys, (and gals) its appreciated. oh yeah, i checked chevy duty (Classic parts) and LMC. nothing there, i googled it and everything... couldnt find anything.
     
  2. 1985_K5_Silverado

    1985_K5_Silverado 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Posts:
    984
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Corn Country
  3. 3 on the tree

    3 on the tree 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    3,970
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    gunnison colorado
    My factory gauge has a steel line with about 3 coils in it, to absorb engine movement/vibration. I would look at steel brake lines, for a replacement.
     
  4. 68MUDSTUD

    68MUDSTUD OCD with shiny things

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Posts:
    9,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MT
    do you know where i could get one? my dad just told me that if i order a new oil sending unit that itll come with the line and fittings on it... is it true or is he just yankin my chain?
     
  5. 3 on the tree

    3 on the tree 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    3,970
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    gunnison colorado
    There is no "sending unit" for a mechanical oil gauge. Just a brass fitting that screws into the block. You could probably get a plastic oil line from a parts store, just bring your gauge and block fitting so you get the correct size parts.
     
  6. 1979jimmy350

    1979jimmy350 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Posts:
    3,069
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ann Arbor Mi
    just go to a parts store, i bought a set that has copper line so it won't be affected by heat like the plastic line and it had all the fittings that were needed to run a new line to your gague
     
  7. obijuan

    obijuan 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Posts:
    4,009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio TX
    or you can go to orielly and get just the copper tube from autometer and its 13 bucks here in texas it comes with all new fittings and everything, perfect replacement. its bright yellow by the gauges


    but speaking fo the iol line, on my 85 350, i bought a set of those gauges, temp oil and volts. where do i put the oil line into, do i just pull the whole metal deal sticking out of the back of the block and use the new fittings or do i use the "unit" already attached?
     
  8. 3 on the tree

    3 on the tree 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    3,970
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    gunnison colorado
    If you put a "T" fitting in the block, you can run both gauges.:D
     

Share This Page