Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

oil pressure

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Chrisblazzer89, Oct 21, 2006.

  1. Chrisblazzer89

    Chrisblazzer89 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    1,966
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts 02301
    MY oil pressure gauge reads over 60 wen i drive my truck around is that bad ? It reads like that at all times even wen at idle.


    some help please.
     
  2. HEAVY METAL

    HEAVY METAL 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maple Ridge B.C. Canada
    if it reads 60 at all times.. gauge is faulty......
     
  3. y5mgisi

    y5mgisi 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Posts:
    17,156
    Likes Received:
    247
    Location:
    Portland Oregon
    x2 Could also be a pinched oil pressure sending unit wire that is grounding out.
     
  4. Chrisblazzer89

    Chrisblazzer89 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    1,966
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts 02301
    more info it will go to 0 wen the truck is off but from wen i start till wen i shut it off it stays at 60
     
  5. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    If you turn your truck on and it goes to 60 at idle then you probably have a loose wire or a bad sender. If the wire that connects to the oil pressure sending unit is disconnected it will do that. I had it happen to me once for awhile. I accidentially knocked the wire off when I was messing with the distributor.

    Harley
     
  6. Chrisblazzer89

    Chrisblazzer89 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    1,966
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts 02301
    so were would i go to look for this wire? and pics would help
     
  7. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,062
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    Mine does the same but i have checked with a mechanical guage and it truely has 60-65 PSI running cold or hot doesn't matter. Just an engine with good oil tolerences.
     
  8. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,062
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    you're killing me with your avatar. :thumb:
     
  9. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    It is on the very back of the motor by the distributor. Look down by the back of the distributor and you should see a little brass fitting coming out of the back of the manifold area that has a brass colored bell looking thing screwed into it. The brass bell looking thing is the pressure sender. There should be a wire with a spade connector hooked to it. If the wire is not hooked to it then rehook it and see if the problem is solved. If it is not check the wire to make sure it is in ok shape and not cut or broken anywhere. If that doesn't work see if changing the sending unit will work.

    My motor at cold idle will hold 50PSI and peg the gauge at 60psi revved but after it runs for awhile it will warm up and hold 30psi idle, 50psi revved.

    Harley
     

Share This Page