Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Oil Sending Unit... Need Quick Help!!

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by SAVAGE1, Mar 7, 2002.

  1. SAVAGE1

    SAVAGE1 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 22, 2000
    Posts:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BAY AREA, CA
    I'm bout to fire up the new crate engine and I need to plug in the mechanical sending unit. I still have the stock one in place at the back of the intake manifold. Is there another place I can stick the mechanical sending unit. There's a hole on top of where the oil filter mounts. Can I use that one? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Gold Rush

    Gold Rush 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why can't you use the original hole at the back of the engine? Just take out the stock one.


    David
     
  3. jimmyjack

    jimmyjack 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 11, 2000
    Posts:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson Az
    yes you can use the one on top of the oil filter
     
  4. SAVAGE1

    SAVAGE1 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 22, 2000
    Posts:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BAY AREA, CA
    I have two sending units at the back of the manifold joined with a T fitting. One has 3 wires (supposed to be a choke switch/ oil sending unit) and the other only has 1 wire. Can I put the Mec sending unit in place of the 1 wire sensor?
     
  5. SAVAGE1

    SAVAGE1 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 22, 2000
    Posts:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BAY AREA, CA
    Cool, that's all I needed to hear. I'm bout to go crank this thing up. Thanks guys.
     

Share This Page