Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

oil sensor......late model help please..

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 78Suburban, Jan 15, 2007.

  1. 78Suburban

    78Suburban 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    My dad's 2003 tahoe with a 5.3 has some oil sensor issues. When the truck is off, the guage is sitting on 70, when you crank it, it briefly (like a half of a second) goes to about 50 pressure, then goes way off the scale past 80 psi. Is it more likely the sensor or the guage messed up? Any tips on how to fix it? where is the oil sensor located? thanks for the help.
    James
     
  2. Thunder

    Thunder 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Posts:
    8,946
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northeast Nevada
    If the ignition switch is off and the guage is stiitng on 70 It is prolly a problem with the guage. It should read 0 with no power to it.
     
  3. 84zz4ss

    84zz4ss 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pensacola FL
    Probably the guage itself. Seen way to many bad clusters in late model GM's.
     
  4. 78Suburban

    78Suburban 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    yeah, it does it with the key out of the truck.... is replacing the guage a difficult task?
     
  5. 78Suburban

    78Suburban 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
  6. readymix

    readymix 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Posts:
    6,706
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Murrieta, California
    on a 2003 replacing hte cluster is easy. Should only take about 20 minutes.



    But the catch is that you need to have the new cluster programmed to read the correct mileage.
    Look on www.jpcustoms.com for a new cluster. They have them for $$ instead of $$$$$$ sometimes
     
  7. readymix

    readymix 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Posts:
    6,706
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Murrieta, California
    Forgot to tell you:
    Look in the garage sale section over there.
     
  8. 78Suburban

    78Suburban 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    So its gonna be uber hard to do this on a budget I'm guessing.. you can't replace just one guage in that truck?
     
  9. 84zz4ss

    84zz4ss 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pensacola FL
    Correct. The only servicable parts are a couple bulbs. You buy a reman unit and send your core back. But as readymix pointed out the cluster will need to be programed.

    By the dealer.
     
  10. Jason4x4

    Jason4x4 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Posts:
    4,505
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    if i'm correct it doesn't matter where the gauge is with the key off, what you need to check is with the key on and the engine off, then it should be at zero
     

Share This Page