Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

oil/temp sending units

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by bear76, Apr 5, 2007.

  1. bear76

    bear76 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Posts:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    here
    When changing the temp. sending unit do you have to drain the coolant? Same question for the oil pressure sending unit.

    Thanks
     
  2. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,982
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Coolant temp will drain, oil pressure will leak some, but not much, essentially all the oil goes back to the pan.

    You can try siphoning coolant out of the radiator, if you get the radiator level lower than the coolant temp sender you may actually get some to drain away from the heads.
     
  3. bear76

    bear76 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Posts:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    here
    Thanks.
     
  4. 4xcrazy

    4xcrazy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Posts:
    9,472
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Olympia/Lacey, Washington
    but then again, if you have the new temp sender right next to you, and your quick enough and ready, you can swap them with little coolant loss :D
     
  5. bear76

    bear76 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Posts:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    here
  6. bluehen

    bluehen 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Posts:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DE
    I didn't drain either when I replaced them.
     

Share This Page